Maison de la Bellone
Rue de Flandre 46, Brussels, 1000
|Save money and beat the queues by booking attractions, tours and things...|
- Recommended for:
- Couples, Culture vultures, Mature travellers, Seasoned travellers, Singles, Design and architecture, History
Expert review of Maison de la Bellone
Pop down Impasse de Roulier, off Rue de Flandre, if you can to get a glimpse of the stunning façade of this Baroque mansion. It was built in 1697 by Jan Cosyn (the sculptor responsible for the bust of King Charles II of Spain that decorates the Guild of the Bakers guildhouse on the Grand Place) for arms-trader Nicolas Bally and his wife. It’s named after the Roman Goddess of War, Bellona, whose bust sits above the doorway and Jan Cosyn’s signature. Notice also the medallions bearing the faces of Rome’s great emperors — Hadrian, Antoninus Pius, Trajan and Marcus Aurelius — spread between the Ionic columns.
For unknown reasons, it raced through a list of owners before Brussels mayor Charles Buls acquired it for the city in 1913. Today, several societies host their concerts, workshops and exhibitions here.
More information on Maison de la Bellone:
- Price guide:
- Architectural site, Historic site
- Rue de Flandre 46, Brussels, 1000
- +32 2 513 33 33
- Months open:
- All year round
- Opening times:
- Mon—Fri 10am—6pm, closed Sat—Sun.